|  | 


Parliament of Pakistan to elect new PM on Tuesday

Islamabad, July 31, Parliament of Pakistan will elect a new prime minister on Tuesday with ruling party leader Shahid Khaqan Abbasi expected to win the poll.

After the election, the new prime minister will take oath of office, administered by the president.

Candidates belonging to major political parties have handed over their nomination papers to Secretary National Assembly for the prime minister's election after the Supreme Court disqualified former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif from his seat in connection with Panama Papers case.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's (PML-N) nominated candidate Shahid Khaqan Abbasi , Opposition Leader in National Assembly Khursheed Shah, Awami Muslim League (AML) Chief Sheikh Rashid Ahmed and Muttahida Qaumi Movement's (MQM) MNA Kishwer Zahra have handed over their nomination papers to the parliament staff.

It is to be mentioned that Shahid Khaqan Abbasi will serve as an interim Prime Minister for the ruling party until Shahbaz Sharif who is also brother of Nawaz Sharif will be elected as member of National assembly to be able to contest another election in the parliament to become the next prime minister of Pakistan.

Shahbaz Sharif who is currently chief minister of Punjab province will have to resign from his seat in Punjab Assembly and then have to get elected from the seat left vacant by Nawaz Sharif in the National Assembly.

Source: Islamic Republic News Agency

The iran News Gazette is mainly concerned with news and information about the Arab region and also covers international issues. Its main objective is to provide reliable and verified information on the Arab region for publishing on the digital landscape.